2013 Project Life

I started project life last year, but I didn’t finish. I fell in love with the concept of project life the first time i saw a pin on pinterest a year ago — its scrapbooking made easy. I’ve tried scrapbooking on several occasions in my life and never stuck with it. I like the idea of documenting life but I’ve struggled with how to do that… until Project Life. Despite the fact that I haven’t finished my 2012 album, I still love Project Life and how its changing how I document and record our life. I wish I’d started when Jackson was born and spent more time documenting the details and the everyday.

Before I go any further, if you’re not sure what project life is, then take a look at this video from Becky Higgins about Project Life because she can explain it far better than I can.

I didn’t even get half way through my 2012 album. But I haven’t given up. I’m going to finish it, even if part of the year isn’t as full or complete as some other parts. In the end, I will have documented something which is more than I can say about past years. And that is a success.

With a year (or really a half a year?) behind me, I wanted to share some things I’ve learned in the last year:

  • Do what works for you. When my core kit first arrived, I was so overwhelmed by all the inspiration on pinterest; there are some truly gorgeous project life albums. But those albums? They were created by serious scrapbookers; not something I’ve had success with and NOT the reason I wanted to do project life in the first place. I had to recalibrate my expectations for my own project life half way through the year. It’s not going to be perfect. It’s not going to be exactly what I envision in my head. But that’s okay, because the point is to document in our life, and I’m doing that. 
  • It may take awhile to find a groove. Honestly, I think it took me a whole year, which included basically giving up and not taking much of any photos or making notes of anything for 3ish months over the summer. I’ll blame it on the Texas heat šŸ™‚ But I think I finally have and it took a shift in moving to digital project life. Figuring out what process works best for you may take awhile, but don’t give up — the end product is worth it. I know our family will cherish these albums for years and years.
  • Document. Even if you’re behind by months, even if its 100% with a cell phone camera. In a few year’s you’ll cherish what you’ve documented. And at some point, you can find time to get all those notes into your Project Life album. I personally use the Memento app on my iPhone to make notes about what’s going on. I love that it also pulls in Facebook, Twitter and Instagram feeds which makes documenting the daily life much much easier. It’s been a lifesaver.
  • Consistent design. Each spread doesn’t need to be identical but having consistent elements saves a lot of time. I select a couple of fonts and stick to those. I don’t even look at other fonts. It gets distracting. I’ve chosen an element for my title card that ties them all together and also means I don’t have to put a lot of thought into what my title card should look like. Its a great foundation that keeps me from getting to distracted.

I’ll do another post soon on the details of my process and what I’ve found really works for me but I think that’s enough for one day!

I’m really loving Project Life. Thanks Becky for developing such a wonderful system for documenting life. I hope I continue to feel inspired for years to come!

Leave a Comment

